Khan to take Oath on 18th August, Three Former Indian Cricketers are also Invited


ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Elect Imran Khan will take oath as the prime minister on August 18.

Imran Khan’s party Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) secured 116 general seats in the National Assembly in the July 25 polls, Khan is about to become the 19th prime minister of Pakistan.

PTI spokesperson Fawad Chaudhary said that newly-elected members of the National Assembly would take oath on 13th August at 10:00 am, which would be followed by the election for speaker and deputy speaker of the national assembly through secret balloting.

“The procedure takes two to three days, hence it has been decided that the oath-taking would take place on August 18,” Fawad said.

He further said that Khan would not stay at the PM House or Punjab House in Islamabad.

“Imran, being the prime minister, will stay at the ministers’ enclave, however, he may to stay at the Punjab House for a few days because of repair of the house,” he added.

Few days ago, PTI leader Naeem ul Haque said that Imran Khan would reside at the chief minister’s annexe at Punjab House, after taking oath as Prime Minister.

In Khan’s first speech after getting majority in Elections 2018, He had said he is likely to turn the Prime Minister House into an educational institute.

“Our government will decide what we will do with the PM House. We want to turn it into an educational or public institution,” Khan said.

Alongside Fawad was Faisal Javed who told the media that three former Indian cricketers had been invited to Imran’s oath-taking ceremony.

“Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev and Navjot Singh Sidhu have been invited,” Faisal said, adding that Pakistan cricket team of 1992s World Cup had also been invited to the ceremony.

Also Read:

Pakistani envoy meets US defense secretary

Number games for Punjab Government, PML-Q gives thumbs down to PML-N


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here