Asad Qaisar Elected as Speaker of National Assembly


Asad Qaisar elected as Speaker National Assembly

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) Asad Qaisar is elected as National Assembly (NA) speaker on Wednesday, beating out the candidate fielded by a grand opposition alliance, PPP Khursheed Shah.

Total votes polled are 330, from which Asad Qaisar, the former speaker of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, received 176 votes while Khursheed Shah received 146 votes. 8 votes were rejected.

Following the announcement, Sadiq administered oath to Qaiser among loud chants of vote ko izzat do by PML-N leaders.

Qaisar, after the announcement of his victory, made a round of the opposition benches and shook hands with opposition leaders including Shehbaz Sharif, Asif Ali Zardari, Bilawal Bhutto and Ahsan Iqbal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here